Berlin Marathon Training Starts This Week

Due to a busy out-of-town work schedule, I’ve been unable to keep up with blogging as regularly as I would like. However, I am back home now and will have much more time to dedicate to this blog and to helping you achieve your running goals. I want to start this week off by announcing I will be officially running the Berlin Marathon on Sunday, September 24th. I am extremely thrilled and excited to be participating in one of the world’s greatest marathons. It’ll be by fourth World Marathon Major and first overseas. This will also be my first trip to Europe so I am looking forward to soaking in the rich history and culture of Germany and central Europe.

The Berlin Marathon is where the most recent official world record was set. Dennis Kimetto crossed the finish line in 2 hours, 2 minutes and 57 seconds in 2014. (Eliud Kipchoge just ran 2:00:25 earlier this month but it doesn’t count as the official record) Berlin is a fast course and I expect a fast race. My goal is to run under 2:49 which would be a personal best. I feel I have the proper conditioning and mindset at the moment to accomplish that goal.

Running in the Berlin Marathon is part of my larger goal to complete all six World Marathon Majors in under three hours. I still have to enter and finish the Tokyo and London Marathons which I am working on. The plan is to finish all six by 2019. If you follow me on my twitter handle @donaldcanrun I started the #sub3all6 which will be part of tweets pertaining to my quest. Not very many people have completed all six World Major Marathons in under three hours. If I accomplish this feat, I would be in small company.

Image may contain: 2 people
People who complete all six World Marathon Majors get this awesome medal. That’s me pointing to what I view as the ultimate running medal.

The Berlin Marathon starts in 18 weeks. While I have been running regularly, my official training for the race begins this week and I am going to document it daily on this blog. I want you to join me on my journey and get the feel and idea of what it’s like to train for a major marathon. I am going to explain why I run the mileage I do, the workouts I do each day and how I feel. Training for a marathon can be grueling and a slog but also rewarding and satisfying. I want you to see the realities of it. I will be adding in workouts I have never done before so I will be changing my routine with the hopes it’ll help me run under 2:49. There will be shorter races in between now and the Berlin Marathon. These races will be taken as tuneups to the Berlin Marathon.

Usually, I will be running six days a week. I like to take a day off to let my body and mind recover. There will be some weeks in which I will run five days, perhaps due to a race or work schedule. There could be some weeks I will run all seven days.  There’s always a reason for what I do and I will explain. Let’s start with Monday:

Location: Pasadena, CA.

Temperature: Cloudy, about 57 degrees

Type of run: Semi-long

Length: 11 miles

Type of route: gradual uphill and gradual downhill with one short steep hill

Time: 1 hour, 14 minutes, 11 seconds

Pace Per Mile: 6:45

Reason for this run: A long run once a week is a staple of marathon training but it’s best to work it in slowly if you haven’t been doing it every week. I haven’t run longer than 11 miles in a day in the past four weeks so I think it’s best to build back up to longer run lengths.

How did I feel?: Good. I think two days off plus running the past four weeks at mini-altitude (2,000 to 2,300 feet above sea level) probably allowed to keep a fairly consistent and hard pace without feeling like the effort was difficult.

Let’s see what tomorrow brings.

Running With You,

Donald

 

2 thoughts on “Berlin Marathon Training Starts This Week

Leave a Reply

