Berlin Marathon Training Week #2 Day 1

Location: Pasadena, CA.

Temperature: Sunny, 82 degrees

Type of run: long

Length: 14.84 miles

Type of route: gradual uphills and downhills with four hill climbs and one downhill descent

Time: 1 hour, 42 minutes, 48 seconds

Pace Per Mile: 6:56

Heart Rate: Started out around 148 but because of length of run and the heat it steadily rose throughout run even though effort felt the same. My heart rate the last three or four miles ranged from 160 to 168 which is usually what it is during a hard tempo run effort. The heat and length of the run will cause the heart rate to increase so this wasn’t unusual.

Reason for this run: Long runs are a staple of marathon training. They build and maintain endurance as well as train the body to burn fat better. This comes in handy when your muscles use up glycogen and need another fuel source. Even the thinnest people have enough fat to fuel the longest of workouts. This is actually my longest run of the calendar year to date.

How did I feel?: Decent but worn out at the end. The warmer temperatures can make any run tough but it also makes you stronger both mentally and physically.  Here’s an article about running in warmer weather. I tried to take it easy and felt my effort was controlled despite my per mile pace being more on the fast side for such a long run. I wasn’t out-of-breath tired at the end of the run at all. My legs were worn and I could feel the effects of slight dehydration. I was glad to be done but could’ve gone another mile if I had to. But I didn’t so I stopped.

Running With You,

Donald

Leave a Reply

