Berlin Marathon Training Week #4 Day 2 Back-to-Back 10-milers

Location: Salem, OR

Temperature: Mostly sunny, 73 degrees

Type of Run: Medium-easy pace

Length: 10.25 miles + 4 sprint strides

Type of route: mostly flat

Time: 1 hour, 12 minutes, 37 seconds

Pace per mile: 7:05

Average Heart Rate: 141

Reason for Run: Usually, Tuesdays, for me, are recovery days following long runs so I limit the mileage. Because I’m out of town for work, I was unable to run long yesterday due to time limitations. Instead, I opted to get the mileage back by running 10 miles yesterday and today. I took it easier today than yesterday. Making up the mileage this way isn’t a substitute to skipping long runs. Long runs have their own unique benefits. However, time on your feet does help regardless of how you split up your mileage for the week.

The sprint strides consist of me running hard for about 30 to 40 meters then sprinting at about 90% for 30 to 40 meters. The goal is to work on leg turnover and raw speed.

How did I feel? Good. I felt slight fatigue in my legs from yesterday’s run but it wasn’t anything to slow me down.

Running With You,

Donald

Leave a Reply

