Berlin Marathon Training Week #5 Day 2 An Elevated Run in the Biggest Little City in the World

Location: Reno, NV

Temperature: 70 degrees

Type of Run: Easy

Length: 8.74 miles

Type of route: Mostly flat

Time: 1 hour, 4 minutes, 30 seconds

Pace per mile: 7:23

Average heart rate: 141

Reason for Run: Today was meant to be an easy run. Due to time constraints, I shaved more than a mile off my intended distance of 10 miles. I figure I can make up the mile later in the week.

How did I feel? Good. Reno is at about 4,500 feet above sea level so I got a run in at altitude. The higher you are, the less oxygen there is in the air which means you get tired faster as your muscles are getting less energy from oxygen. I felt a little winded to start the run which was clearly an effect of the altitude. Also, my pace was slower than normal for my effort. Again, the result of altitude running. The longer you are at altitude, your body will adjust to the oxygen levels. A lot of elite runners will train and live at altitude because the body adapts to less oxygen. When they race at lower elevations, their bodies become more efficient at using the extra oxygen. This can give them the boost they need to win races. Being in Reno only one day will not give me benefits of altitude running. I would need to stay there for at least two weeks to receive any benefits. Having seen Reno now, I think I’ll pass on staying for more than a day.

Leave a Reply

