Berlin Marathon Training Week #6 Day 3 A Very, Very, Very Early Tempo Run

Location: Tulare, CA.

Temperature: Clear, 78 degrees with roughly 75% humidity

Type of Run: Tempo

Length: 7.27 miles

Type of route: Flat

Time: 45 minutes, 14 seconds

Pace per mile: 6:13

Average heart rate: 156

Reason for Run: A tempo run helps build stamina and speed. A tempo run is a hard run designed to help the body adapt to race-like conditions when the pace will be fast. The idea is to run comfortably hard.

How did I feel? Good. I was in Tulare for work. High temperatures in Tulare this week have been over 100 degrees Fahrenheit. It doesn’t cool down to under 90 until well after dark so running during the day after work would’ve been foolish and a threat to my health as I would risk heat stroke. How did I solve this problem? I woke up really, really, really early. How early? I got out of bed at 2:45am! I started my run at 3:30am after warming up. Yes, this was a very early run. It was the only time temperatures were cool enough to run. It was still warm and felt even warmer thanks to the high humidity. However, I didn’t have to worry about the sun beating on me. When I finished my run I was covered in sweat as if I jumped into a pool. That’s because the moisture in the air doesn’t allow the sweat to evaporate off my body as efficiently. This actually makes it harder for my body to cool down so one has to be careful when running in humid conditions so one doesn’t overheat.

My pacing for this tempo run was solid. My mile splits ranged from 6:10 to 6:16 so I was consistent though the flat route I ran helped with that. I did wear reflective gear and a headlamp so the few cars that were out could see me. The neighborhood I was in was quiet so it made for a pleasant run as I had nothing to stress about as far as cars or anything else. It was quite an experience running that early although I wouldn’t recommend it unless you are an experienced runner because you have to watch for bumps on the sidewalks and streets and for cars (drivers don’t expect to see pedestrians or runners at that time so they may not be paying total attention).  Also, you have to know your surroundings in case bad people might be around. It also helps to have a cell phone just in case something happens.

Running With You,

Donald

Leave a Reply

