Berlin Marathon Training Week #7 Day 4 A Quality Tempo Run at Night

Location: Pasadena, CA.

Temperature: Clear evening sky, 66 degrees

Type of Run: Tempo

Length: 7.68 miles

Type of route: Gradual inclines and declines with some flat areas, one downhill descent and one uphill climb

Time: 47 minutes, 52 seconds

Pace per mile: 6:14

Average heart rate: 154

Reason for Run: A tempo run is designed to build speed, endurance and strength. It helps the body get used to a hard race effort. The goal is to run comfortably hard. I’ve been slowly increasing the distance of my tempo runs to build endurance and speed at the same time. If you want to race hard, you need to run hard during training. My pace was faster than my goal marathon pace but slower than my half marathon pace. This is good because I want to be able to complete long tempo runs at a pace slightly faster than or around my goal marathon pace of between 6:20 and 6:30. My body can now get used to the pace and distance and make adaptations. If I run too fast, I risk injury because I’d be wearing out my legs.

How did I feel? Good. My mile splits were generally consistent except when I had to hill climb up Rosemont Street from the Rose Bowl 5k loop. Anytime you climb a hill you’ll slow down so this wasn’t worrisome. It was nice running as the sun was setting. The temperature was cool and I felt I had a solid groove throughout the run.

Running With You,

Donald

Leave a Reply

