Berlin Marathon Training Week #8 Day 5 It’s Hot Outside!

Location: Pasadena, CA.

Temperature: Mostly sunny during sunset, 89 degrees

Type of Run: Medium-long

Length: 11 miles

Type of route: Gradual inclines and declines with one hill climb and one hill descent

Time: 1 hour, 20 minutes, 29 seconds

Pace per mile: 7:19

Average heart rate: 140

Reason for Run: This was a medium-long run. The goal is to improve endurance and strength, both physical and mental, along with adding to the weekly mileage total. The medium-long run is generally done at a faster pace than the long run but not a whole lot faster. If you train for a marathon, you’ll need to incorporate this run into your schedule because you need to train your body to run for a long time.

How did I feel? Good but it was hot and my legs are starting to feel the cumulative fatigue of training. This is normal and not something that’s a precursor to injury for me. In a couple weeks, I’ll taper for a half marathon which will help my legs feel better. I waited until sunset to run so the temperature could cool. It only got down to 89 degrees. I strapped on my camelbak loaded with water and went. I took it easy and comfortable. I didn’t want to push my body in the heat. I survived.

Running With You,

Donald

Leave a Reply

