Berlin Marathon Training Week #8 Day 6 A Speedy Speed Workout

Location: Pasadena, CA.

Temperature: Sunny, 81 degrees

Type of Run: Intervals/speed

Length: 4.47 miles ( 4 x 800m-600m-400m)

Type of route: 400-meter oval track

Time: 24 minutes, 36 seconds (2:47, 2:46, 2:46, 2:46; 2:04, 2:03, 2:04, 2:04; 1:19, 1:19, 1:19, 1:19)

Pace per mile: 5:30

Average heart rate: 154

Reason for Run: This was a shorter interval workout designed more to improve speed endurance and leg turnover. I chose to descend from 800-meter reps down to 600-meter and 400-meter reps to mix it up so my body would have to adjust to different distances and speed. When the body has to adapt, improvement are made in fitness. My previous interval workouts were longer reps at 1-mile and 1,000 meters so I decided shorter reps this time would be beneficial. I also wanted to keep the workout short due to the heat. I ran around 8am and it was already 81 degrees outside! The heat can radiate off the red rubber track to make it seem hotter. Plus, a track has no shady areas to hide from the sun. I rested 1:00 to 1:30 in between each rep so my body wouldn’t get too comfortable. Plus, I wanted to finish the workout to get out of the sun.

20170708_090228
Muir High School is where I do most of my track workouts. This is my view of the hills around the Rose Bowl. 

How did I feel? Good. My legs are still worn out from all the training but overall the workout was good. My times weren’t as fast as they could’ve been but that’s not a big deal. The warm and somewhat humid weather will slow down times. The important thing is effort. Was I pushing myself? I was but in a controlled way so as to avoid heat exhaustion. When it’s hot, you have to be mindful of your own limitations. Drink lots of fluids and dial it down a bit if you need to so you can avoid heat stroke or dehydration. You’re still making gains in your running even if you slow it down in the heat.

Running With You,

Donald

Leave a Reply

