Berlin Marathon Training Week #9 Day 1 An Easy Run Before and After Hard Runs

Location: Pasadena, CA.

Temperature: Mostly sunny, 84 degrees

Type of Run: Easy

Length: 6.04 miles

Type of route: mostly flat with some gradual inclines and declines

Time: 43 minutes, 13 seconds

Pace per mile: 7:09

Average heart rate: 139

Reason for Run: This was an easy recovery run. The goal was to keep the mileage low to recover from the speed workout from the day before and also to keep the legs from getting too worn out a day before a challenging hard long run.

How did I feel? Good. I kept the pace easy and comfortable. The route had no tough hill climbs. The weather was warm and humid but not terribly gross. I accomplished what I wanted by getting it done and keeping the mileage low. Through 8 weeks of training,  I feel I’m right where I need to be. The tougher workouts are still ahead in the next 9 weeks or so and right now I’m getting ready for them. Tomorrow’s run will be tough as I plan to run half of the miles in my long run at or near marathon race pace.

Running With You,

Donald

Leave a Reply

