Berlin Marathon Training Week #9 Day 3 My Legs Might Be Telling Me Something About My Shoes

Location: Pasadena, CA.

Temperature: Mostly sunny, 82 degrees with 48% humidity

Type of Run: Medium easy

Length: 9.2 miles + 5 sprint strides

Type of route: gradual inclines and declines with two solid hill climbs and one small climb and three descents

Time: 1 hour, 7 minutes, 6 seconds

Pace per mile: 7:18

Average heart rate: 137

Reason for Run: This was a maintenance run meant to build weekly mileage. It’s done at a comfortable pace but one that is usually faster than the pace of a regular long run. I picked a route with some hill climbs to make it more of a challenge as well as build leg strength. Incorporating runs with hill climbs in them, whether on the street or trails, will make your legs stronger, as well as prepare you for races with hills. The sprint strides are done to improve leg turnover and work on speed.

How did I feel? Decent. I took a day off after the hard long run but my legs today still felt fatigued. This was to be expected but they felt a little more worn out than I thought they’d be by the end of the run. It’s possible part of the fatigue feeling is due to old shoes. The shoes I wore today have a lot of miles on them. My past experience wearing old shoes that are starting to wear out is that my legs feel more fatigued and achy after runs than they should. I’m deciding now whether to retire this pair. I might give them one more try just to see if that’s the case.

The weather was a bit humid too which I didn’t care for. I kept my pace comfortable so it wasn’t that bad. I ran up the hill on La Loma Road right after the bridge. It’s the first time I did that climb in more than a year since that section of the road was closed due to bridge renovations. Looking at the hill, it doesn’t seem too tough. But I assure you it is a challenging climb.

Running With You,

Donald

Leave a Reply

