Berlin Marathon Training Week #9 Day 5 Consistency Was the Theme

Location: Pasadena, CA.

Temperature: Sunny, 86 degrees

Type of Run: Medium long

Length: 10.5 miles

Type of route: some flat areas, gradual inclines and declines around the Rose Bowl, one uphill climb and one downhill descent

Time: 1 hour, 15 minutes, 18 seconds

Pace per mile: 7:10

Average heart rate: 139

Reason for Run: Medium-long runs help build endurance and add to the weekly mileage total. They’re usually done at a pace faster than a typical long run. A medium-long run should have you on your feet from anywhere between 1 hour 10 minutes and 1 hour, 45 minutes. To tolerate the length of a marathon, you have to prepare yourself to be on your feet moving for a few hours. This is done in training with things like medium-long runs. Your body will then get used to being on its feet for long periods of time.

How did I feel? Decent. My legs felt heavy. This is from the cumulative effect of training. I also have been sore in my left thigh. These things happen but I do have to pay attention to an area that’s been sore for multiple days. A good massage of the area should help. Running on tired legs can be a good thing because it’s preparation for a marathon. Legs start to fatigue noticeably after 15 miles or so into the race. If you’re used to running on those tired legs, you’ll be able to handle it better during the race both physically and mentally.

This run was also highly consistent from a pacing perspective. My mile splits ranged between 7:09 and 7:14. I was happy my pacing was consistent throughout the run because now I can figure out how to do it more often. This will come in handy when I run the marathon and need to keep a consistent pace to hit time goals. Plus, a consistent pace in a marathon lets me know I’m not burning too much energy at a certain point. This will help me decide if I can pick up the pace later on if I need or want to.

Running With You,

Donald

Leave a Reply

