Berlin Marathon Training Week #9 Day 6 Metric Mile Repeats

Location: Pasadena, CA.

Temperature: Sunny, 85 degrees

Type of Run: Intervals

Length: 5.59 miles (6 x 1,500 meters)

Type of route: 400-meter oval track

Time: 33 minutes, 11 seconds (5:31, 5:30, 5:31, 5:33, 5:34, 5:32)

Pace per mile: 5:56

Average heart rate: 162

Reason for Run: Interval or speed or speed endurance workouts (terminology depends on who you to talk to) help improve leg turnover, speed and running efficiency. Basically, your body learns how to better use energy and improve its cardiorespiratory fitness. Your body adapts to running harder and faster so when you race, you’ll be physically and mentally prepared for the effort.  I chose 1,500-meter repeats to mix it up. I haven’t done them in a while so I thought it’d be fun to do them again. Sometimes training can be boring and monotonous. It’s good to do different things to keep yourself engaged and motivated. I figure 1,500-meter repeats would do just that. I wanted to do repeats that were on the longer side but that were slightly different than mile repeats. After each repeat, I walked the 100 meters over to the 1,500-meter start line and started again. I didn’t time the rest but I figured it was anywhere from 1 minute to 1 minute, 45 seconds. I didn’t want to rest too much because I wanted to keep the feeling of continuous running.

How did I feel? Mostly good. My legs are fatigued from training and my left thigh is a bit sore. However, my repeats were extremely consistent time-wise. It was a warm mid-morning and a bit humid so not ideal distance-running conditions. My pace was around half-marathon race pace. I was fine with this as I kept my rest in-between repeats to a minimum. All in all, it was a quality workout. 9 weeks of training are now done. Almost half-way there.

Running With You,

Donald

Leave a Reply

