Berlin Marathon Training Week #10 Day 4 A Slog of a Recovery Run

Location: Burbank, CA.

Temperature: Sunny, 80 degrees, 64% humidity (gross!)

Type of Run: Easy

Length: 6.03 miles

Type of route: mostly flat

Time: 45 minutes, 37 seconds

Pace per mile: 7:34

Average heart rate: 138

Reason for Run: This was a recovery run following my 20-mile run from the day before. The purpose of the recovery run is to run at an easy pace while keeping the mileage low. The point is not to stress your legs and body with a second straight difficult run.

How did I feel? So-so. My legs were really fatigued and a bit sore. I had no choice but to take it easy because my legs wouldn’t go any faster. My muscles were tight too. The start of the run was tough to get going as my legs just didn’t want to move. I started to feel better though as the run progressed. My legs started to loosen which was good. None of this caused concern for me. My legs often feel this way a day after runs of 17 miles or longer.

Running With You,

Donald

Leave a Reply

