Berlin Marathon Training Week #10 Day 6 Up and Down the Interval Ladder

Location: Burbank, CA.

Temperature: Sunny, 81 degrees, 58% to 64% humidity (yuck!)

Type of Run: Intervals

Length: 6.98 miles (4 x 1-mile, 800 meters, 400  meters)

Type of route: 400-meter oval track

Time: 39 minutes, 46 seconds (5:42, 2:47, 1:19; 1:20, 2:50, 5:47; 5:50, 2:51, 1:20; 1:22, 2:49, 5:49)

Pace per mile: 5:42

Average heart rate: 160

Reason for Run: This is what’s known as an interval ladder workout. Like a ladder, I went up and down in distance. The goal of any interval workout is to improve speed endurance and running efficiency. You improve leg turnover and your body learns to use energy better. Since intervals are done at a fast pace, you get your body used to the feeling of running hard and used to the exhaustion. The more you do interval workouts, the more your body will adjust and you’ll find yourself less fatigued after each session. This means it’s working and you’re getting in better shape.

For this particular workout, I wanted to challenge my body by running different distances. My pacing would be different for each rep. This would force my body to adjust itself. Gains are made when the body can’t get into a routine. If it has to keep working hard, you’ll improve your fitness. I started the workout by doing a mile then went down to 800 meters then 400 meters. I then did 400 meters, 800 meters and a mile followed by another mile, 800 meters and 400 meters. Then I did my final 400 meters, 800 meters and mile. I went down, up, down and up again. I rested about 1:30 to 1:40 between each rep. I found that rest time sufficient.

How did I feel? Generally good. It was warm and humid again. It always seems warmer on a track because there’s no shade and the sunlight reflects of the reddish rubber. The conditions don’t make for very fast reps but that’s ok. It’s about effort. I thought I handled this workout well. My legs were definitely worn out from runs earlier in the week. I was pleased my final rep, which was a mile, was faster than my third mile rep (5:49 vs. 5:50). This was the first week in this training cycles I ran more than 60 miles. Actually, I ran a little over 62 miles. 60-mile-plus training weeks will be the norm from mid-August to early-to-mid September. I’m hoping to reach at least 70 miles for two or three weeks but we’ll see how things go.

Running With You,

Donald

Leave a Reply

