Berlin Marathon Training Week #12 Day 1 A Return From Rest

Location: Pasadena, CA.

Temperature: Mostly cloudy, 88 degrees, 55% humidity with a 70 degree dew point (it was just gross and disgusting outside…like a tropical jungle)

Type of Run: Easy

Length: 5.5 miles

Type of route: gradual inclines and declines with one small hill climb and one hill descent

Time: 40 minutes, 11 seconds

Pace per mile: 7:18

Average heart rate: 150

Reason for Run: This was an easy-paced run after four straight days off from running or any kind of cardio activity. I wanted to give my strained left thigh a rest. I kept the mileage low and pace easy so as not to risk further injury. Plus, I’m also tapering ahead of Saturday night’s half marathon in the desert above Las Vegas.

How did I feel? Mostly good. My left thigh is not 100% but it felt a lot better. Yes, there was still some dull pain while running but it was much less than before. Overall, the rest helped my legs. They feel more fresh. Taking time off is very difficult. Lots of thoughts go through your mind such as “Will these few days off time destroy my training?” The answer is no. But it’s hard to convince yourself of that sometimes. You get into a training groove and you want to continue. However, it’s important to listen to your body. I’m going to see how I feel tomorrow and go from there. but I do feel optimistic. I’ve been here before. I feel confident I can finish this upcoming half marathon in a solid time.

Running With You,

Donald

Leave a Reply

